Just Dropped In

20140410-IMG_4444

© 2014 Hans-Jürgen Sommerfeld, all rights reserved

Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In) 
(Mickey Newbury)

(Yeah, yeah, oh-yeah, what condition my condition was in)

I woke up this mornin’ with the sundown shinin’ in
I found my mind in a brown paper bag, but then…
I tripped on a cloud and fell-a eight miles high
I tore my mind on a jagged sky 
I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in

(Yeah, yeah, oh-yeah, what condition my condition was in)

I pushed my soul in a deep dark hole and then I followed it in
I watched myself crawlin’ out as I was a-crawlin’ in 
I got up so tight I couldn’t unwind
I saw so much I broke my mind
I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in


(Yeah, yeah, oh-yeah, what condition my condition was in)

Someone painted “April Fool” in big black letters on a “Dead End” sign
I had my foot on the gas as I left the road and blew out my mind
Eight miles outta Memphis and I got no spare
Eight miles straight up downtown somewhere
I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in

I said I just dropped in to see what condition my condition was in
Yeah yeah oh-yeah

4 thoughts on “Just Dropped In

  1. Mickey Newbury kannt ich (noch) nicht. Dank Dir, konnte ich diese musikalische Wissenslücke schließen. Wunderbare Lyrics und ein perfekter Titel der schön mit dem Song korrespondiert.
    Liebe Grüße zu Dir
    Stefan

    • Moin Stefan!

      Das freut mich jetzt besonders! Eines meiner Lieblingslieder…. 🙂
      Ich wünsche Dir ein schönes Wochenende.
      Liebe Grüße aus dem sonnigen und warmen Karlsruhe
      Juergen

      • Moin Juergen!
        Übrigens, ich habe mir jetzt auch die Akustik-Version von Mickey Newbury angehört, die mir fast besser gefällt, weil sie intensiver ist. Egal, beide Versionen haben ihren eigenen Charme und danke Dir für diesen vorzüglichen Tipp. Und ein paar Sonnenstrahlen darfst Du gern zu uns herüber schieben 🙂
        Liebe Grüße aus dem wechselhaften Norden
        Stefan

  2. Pingback: Just dropped in | My old tumblr blog

Leave a Reply

