ANALOG EDITING

- OLYMPUS OM-2 - --Kodak Ektar 100 --

– OLYMPUS OM-2 –
— Kodak Ektar 100 —

© 2014 Hans-Jürgen Sommerfeld, all rights reserved

I got an anomymous question on my tumblr, saying that I should unfold my way of editing my analog photos, as “someone” told that especially in film photography is the most editing and not in digital photography.

Well, I had to think about that and must admit, yes, in analog photography is a lot more of editing and as I usually don’t answer anon questions, I think this time I should.

So let’s start with the PRE-edits:

  1. First of all I have to chose the camera
  2. Then – which film?  Black and White or Color?
  3. Slide or Negative film?
  4. Which ISO / ASA?
  5. After finding out – open the camera
  6. Load the film into the camera
  7. Close the camera
  8. Wind the film to the first exposure
  9. Control if the setting of the Meter (intern or extern) is correct
  10. Start with searching for subjects worth being shot on film
  11. Finding the right perspective
  12. Think about how to light
  13. Focus manually
  14. Meter
  15. Set the right aperture and time
  16. Press the button
  17. Pray

As in difference to digital photography you are limited to the number of frames on a film you can’t just shoot 10 or more photos and then later throw away nine. You always have to think BEFORE you shoot…

Okay, and now to the POST-edits:

  1. After finishing the roll of film rewind it.
  2. Open the camera
  3. Take out the film
  4. Close the camera
  5. Develop the film or bring it to the lab
  6. In case of bringing it to the lab – pick it up three to four days later
  7. Cut the film
  8. Start the computer and scanner
  9. Use dust-off spray
  10. Scan the frames, one by one
  11. Resize the photos and put on my watermark
  12. Think about which photo to post
  13. Decide for a title
  14. Load the photo up to my blog

So, you see – all in all 31 edits! Man, that’s quite a lot!

Attention: S A T I R E 🙂 😀

 

 

4 thoughts on “ANALOG EDITING

  1. That is a lot and true! My father only used film……good thing about digital is that I find you can happily shoot as many frames and mess them up too……one can really go shutter happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

